BrogueCE icon indicating copy to clipboard operation
BrogueCE copied to clipboard

Player can hit an adjacent submerged monster with a staff or wand

Open zenzombie opened this issue 1 year ago • 1 comments

Fixes #578

  • A submerged player can now target an adjacent submerged monster with a staff or wand.
  • If a non-adjacent submerged monster is manually targeted, the monster cell highlight color changes to a muted white.
  • The monster details window now informs the player when a submerged monster cannot be targeted with a staff or wand.

zenzombie avatar Jan 15 '24 02:01 zenzombie

I wonder if we should just make any zaps valid in this case, instead of only adjacent? is that OP?

I wondered about that as well. I do think it would be a bit OP. You could step underwater and polymorph a kraken on the other side of a lake. It's not super clear that you can't do that now, so hopefully this change makes it clearer.

One idea is to rework underwater visibility so that the player can only see a certain distance. Then allow zapping anything that can be seen. It would make deep water scarier. Could even have different kinds of water... clear, murky, etc.

zenzombie avatar Jan 22 '24 23:01 zenzombie

I have another idea here that I think is simpler. The current behavior is that submerged creatures are not targetable with staffs, wands, or thrown items, regardless of whether the player is submerged or not. We could just change kraken behavior (or really any monster that submerges and can grab) such that if it grabs a player and the player knows the monster's location (player is submerged or player is telepathic), the monster will immediately surface on that same turn. This way we can avoid changing any targeting rules.

Edit: Submitted #681 as an alternative fix. It only allows targeting if the player can see the monster they are being seized by (e.g. player is submerged). Telepathy doesn't help.

zenzombie avatar Apr 15 '24 19:04 zenzombie

Closed in favour of 681

tmewett avatar May 04 '24 13:05 tmewett