mage icon indicating copy to clipboard operation
mage copied to clipboard

Spell cast from player who has lost still resolved

Open Grath opened this issue 7 months ago • 2 comments

I was playing a test game with bots; I had sequenced abilities such that Kodama's Reach was on the stack under other spells/abilities which killed the opponent whose Kodama's Reach was on the stack.

800.4a When a player leaves the game, all objects (see rule 109) owned by that player leave the game and any effects which give that player control of any objects or players end. Then, if that player controlled any objects on the stack not represented by cards, those objects cease to exist. Then, if there are any objects still controlled by that player, those objects are exiled. This is not a state-based action. It happens as soon as the player leaves the game. If the player who left the game had priority at the time they left, priority passes to the next player in turn order who’s still in the game.

The Kodama's Reach still resolved and allowed me to search for a basic land when it should have been removed from the stack by rule 800.4a when they lost.

Grath avatar May 16 '25 22:05 Grath

[[Kodama's Reach]]

JayDi85 avatar May 17 '25 06:05 JayDi85

Kodama's Reach - (Gatherer) (Scryfall) (EDHREC)

{2}{G} Sorcery — Arcane Search your library for up to two basic land cards, reveal those cards, put one onto the battlefield tapped and the other into your hand, then shuffle.

github-actions[bot] avatar May 17 '25 06:05 github-actions[bot]