mage icon indicating copy to clipboard operation
mage copied to clipboard

Bug: Scholar of the Lost Trove cannot cast Adventure sides.

Open Susucre opened this issue 9 months ago • 4 comments

[[Scholar of the Lost Trove]] should allow to cast the Adventure side of [[Twice Upon a Time]], but there is no option to do so.

Susucre avatar May 06 '24 15:05 Susucre

Scholar of the Lost Trove - (Gatherer) (Scryfall) (EDHREC)

{5}{U}{U} Creature — Sphinx 5/5 Flying When Scholar of the Lost Trove enters the battlefield, you may cast target instant, sorcery, or artifact card from your graveyard without paying its mana cost. If an instant or sorcery spell cast this way would be put into your graveyard, exile it instead.

Twice Upon a Time // Unlikely Meeting - (Gatherer) (Scryfall) (EDHREC)

{4}{U}{U} Sorcery Cast this spell only if you control two or more Doctors. Take an extra turn after this one. Exile Twice Upon a Time. :arrows_counterclockwise: {2}{U} Sorcery — Adventure Search your library for a Doctor card, reveal it, put it into your hand, then shuffle.

github-actions[bot] avatar May 06 '24 15:05 github-actions[bot]

Corrected below.

~~I don't think that is supposed to occur. Quote from official page:~~

~~"While Beanstalk Giant is on the battlefield, just ignore the Adventure and all its text. While the card is in your hand, your graveyard, your library, even exile, it has only the characteristics of the creature, not the Adventure. For example, if you cast a spell that lets you search your library and find a creature card, you can find Beanstalk Giant. But if you cast a spell that lets you search your library and find an instant or sorcery card, you won't be able to find Fertile Footsteps."~~

~~https://magic.wizards.com/en/news/feature/throne-eldraine-mechanics-2019-09-04~~

~~This seems to mean the adventure side can't be targeted from graveyard unless they print a card that specifically says so.~~

iamrm91 avatar May 12 '24 18:05 iamrm91

@iamrm91

“Allow cast” effects must be applied to all possible characteristics (normal and adventure versions). And it can allow only a specific part (e.g. creature + instant or only creature or only instant).

Details from https://boardgames.stackexchange.com/questions/48801/can-i-cast-adventures-from-my-graveyard

Related rules:

Casting a card as an Adventure isn't casting it for an alternative cost. Effects that allow you to cast a spell for an alternative cost or without paying its mana cost may allow you to apply those to the Adventure. (2019-10-04)

601.3e If a rule or effect states that only an alternative set of characteristics or a subset of characteristics are considered to determine if a card or copy of a card is legal to cast, those alternative characteristics replace the object’s characteristics prior to determining whether the player may begin to cast it.

Related rules example:

[[Melek, Izzet Paragon]] says, in part, “You may cast the top card of your library if it’s an instant or sorcery card.” If you control Melek, Izzet Paragon and the top card of your library is [[Giant Killer]], an adventurer creature card whose Adventure is an instant named Chop Down, you may cast Chop Down but not Giant Killer. If instead you control [[Garruk’s Horde]] and the top card of your library is Giant Killer, you may cast Giant Killer but not Chop Down.

JayDi85 avatar May 12 '24 19:05 JayDi85

Melek, Izzet Paragon - (Gatherer) (Scryfall) (EDHREC)

{4}{U}{R} Legendary Creature — Weird Wizard 2/4 Play with the top card of your library revealed. You may cast instant and sorcery spells from the top of your library. Whenever you cast an instant or sorcery spell from your library, copy it. You may choose new targets for the copy.

Giant Killer // Chop Down - (Gatherer) (Scryfall) (EDHREC)

{W} Creature — Human Peasant 1/2 {1}{W}, {T}: Tap target creature. :arrows_counterclockwise: {2}{W} Instant — Adventure Destroy target creature with power 4 or greater. (Then exile this card. You may cast the creature later from exile.)

Garruk's Horde - (Gatherer) (Scryfall) (EDHREC)

{5}{G}{G} Creature — Beast 7/7 Trample Play with the top card of your library revealed. You may cast creature spells from the top of your library. (Do this only any time you could cast that creature spell. You still pay the spell's costs.)

github-actions[bot] avatar May 12 '24 19:05 github-actions[bot]

I stand corrected. Should I delete the post so they don't cause any confusion or unnecessary clutter?

iamrm91 avatar May 14 '24 01:05 iamrm91

Nope, it’s just a discussion. You can edit it and add line in the start like “That’s wrong, see next” or use ~~wrong~~ to write ~~wrong~~ part.

JayDi85 avatar May 14 '24 01:05 JayDi85