pf2e
pf2e copied to clipboard
Treat Wounds Macro does not apply item bonus from Healer's Toolkit (Expanded) used by Alchemist Chirurgeon
Healer's Toolkit (Expanded) provides a +1 item bonus to medicine checks such as Treat Wounds:
This kit of bandages, herbs, and suturing tools is necessary for Medicine checks to Administer First Aid, Treat Disease, Treat Poison, or Treat Wounds. Expanded healer's toolkits provide a +1 item bonus to such checks. If you wear your healer's toolkit, you can draw and replace it as part of the action that uses it.
The Chirurgeon Research Field states that your Crafting Modifier can be used "in place" of your Medicine modifier for all medicine checks:
Field Benefit You can use your proficiency rank in Crafting for anything that requires a proficiency rank in Medicine (such as prerequisites) and use your Crafting modifier in place of your Medicine modifier for all Medicine checks.
Rules as written, the Chirurgeon makes a Medicine check using the modifier from their Crafting skill. The foundry implementation of the macro treats it as a Crafting check, and thus the modifier does not get applied due to the rules settings having a single selector of "medicine"
This can be easily solved by changing the Selector to Multiple and adding Crafting to the selector list
This solution actually may not be the BEST way, due to the fact that this would show up on non-Chirurgeons' crafting checks. If there's a way to check for the Chirurgeon feat on the actor using the item, or change the macro implementation to override the medicine skill modifier with the crafting skill modifier temporarily, that would be a more elegant solution.
We consider the rules text there to be basically nonsensical and hope for errata.
It certainly took a moment to parse, but given the PC2 text for Chirurgeon is 1:1 with the original Advanced Players Guide pg 73, I doubt an errata is coming.
The Chirurgeon rules text really just says "for any and all medicine checks, consider your medicine proficiency to be equal to your crafting proficiency and your medicine modifier equal to your crafting modifier." It's certainly an uncommon ruling that I haven't seen used anywhere else in PF2e, but I'd hardly consider it nonsense, it's fairly explicit. The best way to negotiate that within foundry is less clear, however.