HuntersKeepers icon indicating copy to clipboard operation
HuntersKeepers copied to clipboard

Can the Crooked take a second Background move?

Open ChaelCodes opened this issue 4 years ago • 2 comments

The Crooked has two sets of moves, Background moves and regular moves. Can they take a second background move? Can another hunter take a background move? This needs to be investigated.

ChaelCodes avatar Mar 08 '20 13:03 ChaelCodes

Can they take a second background move?

I would say no. The playbook says :

Background: You worked a less-than-legal job before you became a monster hunter. What did you do?

The rulebook is specific in other areas on how many moves a character can take. "You worked a less-than-legal job before...." can be rewritten to say "You had a illicit job..." without changing the meaning of having only one job before becoming a hunter. So it seems that in a strict MoTW campaign it would not be allowed for The Crooked to have a second background.

Can another hunter take a background move?

This is doing the "Advanced Improvements: Change this hunter to a new type" but in reverse. Background moves appear to be meant for building up a Crooked character. This seems like it would be trying to take a Monstrous Curse or a Spell-Slinger's Combat Magic to me.

keigmu avatar Mar 08 '20 15:03 keigmu

Thank you for sharing @keigmu ! We've actually asked the same question about combat magic: https://github.com/ChaelCodes/HuntersKeepers/issues/5#issue-475428985 I like the idea of likening it to taking "the "Advanced Improvements: Change this hunter to a new type" but in reverse." It makes for a very compelling argument. You make a very strong case for treating these moves as Special Moves vs Playbook Moves.

I think I'd like to see more opinions or see if there's an official ruling from Evil Hat Productions before closing this matter though.

ChaelCodes avatar Mar 08 '20 23:03 ChaelCodes